first laura mercier purchase

On my recent trip to Nottingham I was ooh-ing and ahh-ing over the Laura Mercier counter in John Lewis because I have never bought anything from them before.

I decided to get the translucent setting powder to keep it quite simple and I know this is raved about and seen as a cult classic. It’s basically something you can’t go wrong with.

IMG_0150

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE IT. I know this is just a translucent powder but the thing is, it’s not just a translucent powder. Quite simply, it’s the best powder I’ve ever used. How many times can I say powder in once sentence..

It comes in a beautiful elegant pot with the product inside which you tip out through the little holes like with most other loose powders. I have used this every day since I got it for about two weeks now and I left it at my friend’s house yesterday and this morning when I was getting ready I could have cried because no other powder lives up to it. I know that’s ridiculous but it just is a magical product.

It’s translucent without being white like a lot of translucent powders are, so it gives off no white cast in photographs. The formula is so incredibly finely milled it goes on so smoothly and blurs pores, and no matter how much you apply it never looks cakey. The finish is a somewhat luminous matte – it’s matte without being flat (unintentional rhyme). It brings all the products together and sets it all day without drying out the skin too.

IMG_0151

I’ve been using this on a real techniques blush brush to sweep it all over my face as the last step of my makeup, even over the top of highlight. It doesn’t take away anything from the products you have applied beforehand but as I said before it just meshes everything together really nicely and makes your skin look flawless.

 

One thought on “first laura mercier purchase

Leave a comment