UD X ALICE

This has been out for a while now but I wanted to give it a while before I posted about it because I wanted to give it a fair review.

It’s fair to say that there is a lot of hype surrounding a new palette release from Urban Decay, but I did succumb to the bandwagon and run to buy this on the day it came out because eyeshadow and alice in wonderland are two of my favourite things in the world so not owning it wasn’t really an option.

First things first, Urban Decay came out with a palette for the first Alice film a while back and to accompany the release of Alice Through The Looking Glass they released another. It’s beautiful. The packaging is amazing, with gorgeous prints and patterns, and loads of decoration. The lid flips open and there is a fold out butterfly as well as a funhouse style mirror. It has a few great quotes from the books on it too which I love, including one which I actually have tattooed on my arm. The actual eyeshadows are in the pull out bottom section. It’s actually quite a throwback to older UD style packaging with the chunky cardboard box.

It comes with a double ended brush which is decent quality as normal with UD palettes.

I love the way the shadows and chessboard style don’t look real,  it’s quite trippy.

IMG_0331

The way that UD have designed this palette is to dedicate a column to each one of the main characters – Alice, the Hatter, Mirana and Iracebeth, and the new character Time.

Let’s get onto the good shit.

In the Alice column we have…

Alice – super light pink matte
Reflection – light peach matte
Dormouse – mid warm brown matte with gold sparkles
Metamorphosis – bright blue simmer

ad8b3125-8d9f-4cb7-9f8f-b9d13872e9f1_zpsi4br6ofe

Hatter column…

Hatter – grass green shimmer
Gone mad – deep purple with pink sparkles
Paradox – bright orange shimmer
Cake – blue toned dark pink with silver sparkles

e46ed880-e947-40ff-9e8d-0be913f27176_zpsr5yk86mr

Mirana column…

Lily – opal pink pearl
Duchess – duochrome shimmer, peach/pink
Kingdom – bronze/copper shimmer
Chessboard – mid brown matte

3dffbb1f-3020-4d3a-b67b-b3b4c2dd6d89_zpsf0yjzc5a

Iracebeth column…

Heads will roll – bright turquoise with gold sparkles
Bandersnatch – rich deep blue/teal matte
Salazen Grum – crimson/burgundy shimmer
Royal Flush – neutral beigey shimmer

09c22fd0-bae1-44e9-bf62-61fb5dc3cbbf_zpschwaamq0

Time column…

Time – deep navy with lots of sparkles
Dream on – deep purple metallic with silver sparkles
Chronosphere – metallic dark bronze
Mirror – silvery grey satin

fc53cf98-eece-4c5c-a40a-8df0f07f5588_zps2mc5bo0r

The quality of these shadows are insane as always with Urban Decay. Amazing pigment, blendability and colour range. I really like the idea of the columns to create different eye looks but of course you can mix and match them. When I got this I didn’t really think it would be much of an everyday palette but actually I have used this most times I’ve worn eyeshadow since I’ve had it.

My favourite shades are Salazen Grum, Duchess and Paradox, but to be honest I love them all and wear them all.

If you haven’t already got this palette I recommend doing so before it disappears forever.

Get it here:

http://www.urbandecay.co.uk/en_GB/palettes/alice-through-the-looking-glass/UD769.html#start=12&cgid=makeup-palettes

 

 

Leave a comment